[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 05-03-03 ] [ 2:54 p.m.]
[ A prayer for Jerry ]

I don�t talk to God very often anymore.

I ask him to watch over my friends and family, and all the NASCAR drivers every race day, but I don�t talk to him about my problems.

I don�t want any of you super religious people to scoff at me and say that the reason I have all the problems I have is because I don�t talk to God. In my experiences with God, I�ve found that even if I complained about my problems to him all the time, nothing would get fixed, because I�ve always seen God as someone who keeps my ass out of trouble but expects me to fix my problems on my own.

The only time I ever really talk to God is when someone I know, personally or through a t.v. screen, is critically hurt.

This morning, I started talking to God again.

Yesterday night, Jerry Nadeau, a Winston Cup driver, was critically injured in a crash at Richmond.

I hate hearing about this. There�s nothing that scares me more than getting a call from someone or reading something that a Winston Cup driver, someone I watch every weekend, someone I feel I�ve gotten to know very well although I�ve never met them, has been hurt. I always get wound up, wondering what�s going on, hoping the driver�s okay.

To me, the second worst part about auto racing is having to hear that a driver�s been hurt.

And that�s when I start talking to God, start asking him to please take care of that driver, and help him pull through.

Because the worst part about auto racing is having to hear that a driver�s been killed.

Please, God, don�t let Jerry die.

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]