[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 05-31-03 ] [ 9:08 a.m.]
[ Houston, I have a boyfriend! ]

I'd forgotten what it's like to deal with a boy that has never had a girl lavishing constant attention on him. I'd forgotten how clueless those types of boys can be, how cute they can get when they get close to a girl for the first time. I'd forgotten how much I like dealing with first-timers.

I remembered last night.

I have to admit something - Alex is definitely the most clueless first-timer I've ever had to work with. Most guys with a shred of sense towards a girl would know instantly when she was totally flirting with him. I think Alex had the idea, but he really didn't have any clue on how to handle it. At movies, the guy is usually the one who puts his arm around the girl, right? Well, not in this couple.

Anyhow, I suppose I'll start at the beginning. (I apologize in advance for the daylog.) My mother was in one of her totally overprotective phases last night because it was raining out and I was supposed to go to the movie with a boy she didn't know and friends who aren't exactly 100% on the straight-and-narrow as far as school and their futures are concerned. She wasn't going to even let me go at all, until Doug agreed to take me. (By the way, since I got home last week he's been a lot warmer towards me. It's almost weird.) I met Alex at Funset Boulevard at 6:45 and we hung out for fifteen minutes before we left to find everyone else. I was getting all bitchy because Sarah told me to meet her at the gate into Funset, and I must've misunderstood where she meant, because as soon as Alex and I walked into the movie theatre, guess who I found? Sarah, Chris, Holly, and Rosie, waiting for us.

So since Alex and I hadn't gotten our tickets yet, we had to go wait outside in the rain in this friggin' long line. I kept biting the shit out of my nails because I thought the movie would be sold out by the time we got to the ticket booth, but it turns out that there was a really long line because "Finding Nemo" wasn't the only movie opening last night. Apparently most of the people in line were waiting to buy tickets for "Bruce Almighty" which my dad and I might go to see Sunday, but that's beside the point.

It turns out that Alex and I got some of the last tickets for "Finding Nemo." By the time we got into the movie theatre, it looked like the six of us were going to have to sit by ourselves - that's how packed the movie theatre was. We managed to find a couple of seats together, but not enough for the six of us to sit together. Instead, we just ended up sitting in pairs - Holly and Rosie, Sarah and Chris, and me and Alex.

The first part of the movie was okay and I actually paid attention to it, because at that point Alex was immersed in his popcorn and it's not a good idea to flirt with a guy while he's holding the popcorn. (Experience speaks there.) When Alex got full, though, that was a different story. I made sure to wait until he wasn't looking before I poked him in the stomach, which is one of my trademark ways of saying "I'm flirting with you!" Towards the end of the movie, I ended up stealing his left arm, and then (making sure to go slowly enough so that I wouldn't look desperate - gotta worry about my image, too, ya know) I slid my hand down towards his. By the time the movie got to its usual Disney/Pixar super-sappy ending, we were holding hands, and I was thinking "There's no doubt in my mind... after tonight I will be able to say I have a boyfriend." After the movie, we met up with the rest of the friends, who immediately took to Alex, and hung out for a little while. Mostly, Alex got a taste of what it's like when you put me with Sarah and Rosie. We walked back into the arcade area of Funset, and I had taken Alex's arm captive, and we were discussing knocking people over considering I had just nearly fallen down the stairs. I said something like "You'll be able to knock me over a lot easier if you let me take your hand captive." And right away - right away - he pulled his hand out of his pocket and we held hands again. And I'm thinking "Aww, look, Alex has a girlfriend!"

And me, Alex, Sarah, and Rosie stood out in the lobby while we waited for my mom to pick me up. Alex and I held hands the whole time, and I even got him to feed me some of my ice cream. (Aww!) My mom managed to give me a hard time about having a boyfriend in front of Alex, which made him turn bright red, but he never ONCE said anything like "She's not my girlfriend." Not even when Sarah said something like, "Do you mind if I kiss your girlfriend?" In fact, his response to that was "I'd rather you didn't."

I'd really, honestly forgotten what it's like to have a boyfriend. Luckily, now I don't have to try to remember. All I have to do is think about Alex, and I get all gooshy.

I have a boyfriend. I have a boyfriend!

It's been a long time since I've been so happy.

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]