[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 07-20-03 ] [ 8:20 p.m.]
[ I like being liked ]

In the past few weeks I've gotten quite a few good reviews which has made me happier than monkeys in a banana tree. But lately I can't help but feeling a little put out about these great reviews that say they'll be back to read me again.

Meanwhile, I've been monitoring my list of linkers. 31 now.

Okay, I'll admit it. I totally love being the center of attention. I love it when people compliment me and say nice things about me and are interested in what I have to say. Especially in a review - I mean, I'm asking for someone's opinion, saying magic words and talking pretty and the whole bunch, just to get someone to tell me honestly what they think of me as a person. And when someone tells me they like enough to return, then I get excited, because to me, that's another person who thinks I'm worth it.

Why would any person be put out about getting a good comment like that? Because I don't show up on the buddy lists of some of those people who said they'd be back.

Okay, okay, I know that people don't update their profiles very often, myself included. You put the basic information and interests there, list a few diaries, and leave it alone until you come across a diary you like. Then you add it. Or at least, I do. Every time I do a review of a diary I especially like, I add the person right away. Courtesy, you know?

I'm not trying to blame anyone for this. Gods, no. The last thing I want is for one of those excellent reviewers to come after me with a pitchfork and other assorted weapons of choice. I just like being liked, I guess. And I like having the proof that I'm liked.

I'm starting to sound like some super stuck-up preppy girl. That couldn't be farther from who I am. It's just that I like to make friends and I like to please people. I've always been amiable (when in an amiable mood). And knowing someone likes me enough to tell me that they're going to read my diary again makes me feel pretty special. Maybe those reviewers are reading me without having listed me on their buddy lists and I just don't know it. It's very possible.

Anyway, I'm not going to whine about it anymore. There's nothing I can do about not being on everyone's buddy list, unless I decide to go after Andrew with a pitchfork and steal the passwords to every username on the D-land network. And likely I'd get in a heap of trouble for that, so I think I'll stick to submitting for reviews and hoping for the best.

Hey, you can't force someone to like you.

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]