[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 07-04-03 ] [ 9:17 a.m.]
[ Friday Five ]

1. What were your favorite childhood stories? Oh, jeez. Most of the memories of my childhood are strange ones, like the architecture of my kindergarten classroom. I hardly remember what kind of stories I liked as a child, but one for sure I knew I loved - the story of how I was born. (The short: My dad was at a racetrack when my mom went into labor. From there, my fate as a race fan was sealed.)

2. What books from your childhood would you like to share with [your] children? If my kids turn out anything like me, I know they'll love Harry Potter, except that by the time they get around to them the books will be classics and not hot-off-the-press wonders. They also should love "The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle" which is my favorite book of all time.

3. Have you re-read any of those childhood stories and been surprised by anything? I don't read any of the really really child-like books, no. But I still read "Charlotte Doyle" from time to time and every time I fall more in love with that book. I have a collection of very old children's books that my mom tells me I loved when I was young. One day soon I may get around to re-reading them.

4. How old were you when you first learned to read? I learned a different language than English first, so the written word was not the first thing I learned how to read. Long before my parents decided to teach me how to read English at age four, I had been reading quarter notes, half notes, and whole notes. When I was two, my parents took my musical ability to a teacher, who promptly taught me how to read music. I still maintain that music was my first language.

5. Do you remember the first 'grown-up' book you read? How old were you? You and I probably have a very different opinion on a 'grown-up' book. For many years of my life I read children/young adult fantasy books, things like "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe". In fact, I still read a lot of fantasy books, and mostly they're still for young adults. I suppose the first 'grown-up' book I read was Dean Koontz's "Lightning". I was 13 when my mom let me read it, and since then I've been a huge fan of Dean Koontz, especially "Watchers", which is my favorite adult book.

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]