[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 07-04-03 ] [ 8:52 a.m.]
[ The Fourth of July brings tubing and waterskiing ]

Happy Independence Day! I hope that it isn't as muggy wherever you are as it is here.

That said, I woke up this morning and forgot it was the fourth. I was swiftly reminded when Daizy decided to move. Turns out she'd slept on my bed last night because she was scared of the firecrackers.

I still can't feel my legs.

Anyhow, today, if my dear old mommy gets her act in gear, we're going up to my step-aunt and -uncle's cottage in Clintonville. This happens to be a yearly 4th of July tradition which involves a huge family, a ton of food, a big ass house, and a nice big lake perfect for tubing, waterskiing, boating... all those summery things I love. Because I live within walking distance of Lake Winnebago (if you don't know what that is, I suggest you go grab an encyclopedia and read up... basically in a word, Lake Winnebago is fucking huge. Sorry, that's two words.), I have access to speedboating nearly whenever I want (as long as it's summer) but boating and waterskiing are more than just a little dangerous on such a big lake. So Jerry and Deb's lake is more than perfect for the wild stuff.

My brother calls me Monkey whenever I'm tubing, likely because I'm so crazy. I have absolutely no fear of falling off. Most of the friends that I take to Clintonville get scared of tubing and hang on and then they end up straining their muscles. Not one has figured out that the trick to tubing is to relax. You're not supposed to death-grip the tube handles, because more than one has broken because of beginner tubers death-gripping.

On the other hand, when you waterski you're supposed to death-grip, or else you're gonna fall flat on your face and/or ass depending on how fast you were going and how rough the lake is. I learned that one the hard way. Since I was used to relaxing on a tube, I figured that it'd make sense to relax my grip on the handle. Big mistake. The handle ripped right out of my hands and I tore the skin off both of my hands while I also managed to lose a waterski. (Lucky thing they float.)

So yeah. This year I'm taking Carol up to Clintonville with me, and maybe Liz if we can find her. If Liz comes, it means we can triple tube, which is like bumper cars behind a speedboat and is, in my personal opinion, the funnest thing you can do on water besides quad-tubing. The last time we tried quad-tubing, it turned into synchronized flipping. Once one person would start wobbling, all the rest would and all four of us would wreck at once because our boat's wake just isn't big enough for four tubes.

I'm pretty excited about this! I only get the real opportunity to tube once a year.

We got the car yesterday, and I'll tell you what I'm totally in love with that thing. I love the way it drives, the way it handles, just about everything about it. I can't wait to get my license because then I'll drive just for the sake of driving. Mom says to "quit talking about the car or else." While that doesn't exactly apply to my diary, I think I'd better shut it anyway. I don't want to bore you all to death.

Happy Fourth!

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]