[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 02-15-05 ] [ 11:14 p.m.]
[ The Accident ]

It has been, unbelievably, a year and two days since the worst day of my life.

Most of you that read this already know what I mean. You lived that day with me, heard the stories or lived through it, and, god, it seems like so very long ago. I stood in the parking lot of Funset Boulevard and cried. My car was wedged beneath a parked semi-trailer.

My world, at that point, shattered.

I almost killed Tyler and I almost killed Chris. I almost killed myself.

Life, however, turned out for the better.

My car got fixed in about a month. It's at home right now, probably parked in its usual spot in the driveway. It looks no different than it did, other than the dent in the left-rear quarter panel that I got by hitting Dawn's car over break.

I wanted to go back home this past weekend, to go to Funset in my car, park in front of that semi that's still sitting there and just think.

Think about how everything could have been so much worse. Think about the people I could have killed... the life I had that I could have lost.

I was so very, very lucky.

I'm thankful for everything I have. I'm thankful for my family, my friends, my education. My girlfriend, who could have slipped past me a thousand times. The three best friends ever, who know what loyalty is.

It is almost impossible to comprehend how that all could have been lost so quickly - in just one instant of recklessness.

It has been, unbelievably, a year and two days since the worst day of my life.

Unsurprisingly, every day since then has been one I'm thankful for.

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]