[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 01-04-04 ] [ 9:15 a.m.]
[ Broken Fuse vs. Black Rain ]

I don't quite know if I'm ever going to be able to believe another word that comes out of Chad's mouth, at least when referring to band practice. He said I'd only be at practice for an hour, tops, because up until about three p.m. yesterday, I was only the keyboardist for Broken Fuse for one song.

But like I said, I don't know if I'm going to believe Chad about anything having to do with Broken Fuse. As I am now an official member of the band.

I was over at Chad's at one, and we had to stay in Chad's room and work on "Break Down" because his little sister was having a flute lesson in the band room. Justin and Ashlee were already there and they didn't really seem to want me there, as we're not really the greatest of friends. They left at one thirty and went to Subway, leaving me alone with Chad. So, after another half an hours' work on "Break Down", after Chad suckered me into keyboarding for "Hanging On" and taught me the chords, after I agreed to let Chad teach the band "Lullaby", Justin and Ashlee finally got back, Chad's sister was done with her flute lesson, and Chad's brother Matt finally got his dead ass off the couch so he could play the drums.

It took us fully an hour to get through "Break Down". The sad part was that it wasn't like they hadn't rehearsed. They have a pretty decent sound for being a high school band, but the problems were with Ashlee, who couldn't find the pitch. So then Chad had me try the backup vocals and apparently that was just good enough to boot Ashlee and make me the permanent backup vocalist. Then, after we were finally done with "Break Down" and "Hanging On", Chad comes right out and asks me to join the band as the keyboardist.

Honestly, as much as I want to be in a good band, I have a commitment to Dawn and Sara and Black Rain. Granted, Black Rain isn't the greatest vocal combo ever - in fact we fully suck - but Black Rain is mine and it's been mine since sophomore year.

But Broken Fuse... man, they already have a few live performances lined up. They've auditioned for the Coffee House and got in, and they have a gig lined up at the Blue Moon in February.

See, and now I get the opportunity to be a part of that. Whereas, if I stay with Black Rain, the chances I'll ever see a stage again are about maybe 30%. Black Rain would never go for the Coffee House or for Blue Moon. We've concentrated on the talent show and that's about as far as we'll get considering Dawn and Sara really have no work ethic. Consequentially, that means I have to do all the work. As opposed to being in Broken Fuse, and not having to write all the songs. Or play all the instruments.

So. It's going to require some thinking about. I'm really tempted to just let Black Rain die and join a band that could possibly go somewhere. That is, somewhere that isn't down a drain.

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]