[ Current ] [ Archives ] [ Profile ] [ Person ] [ People ] [ Notes ] [ Reviews ] [ Disclaimer] [ Diaryland ]



[ 05-01-03 ] [ 4:13 p.m.]
[ And now I have a shrink ]

I met Fran today.

After meeting with Mr. Nettesheim, my grandma called my mother immediately and said that the recommendations from several people, herself included, have all pointed towards me getting a psychiatrist. So my mom called the doctor's office, and I had an appointment with a psychiatrist at 12:30.

Her name is Fran, and she strikes me as kind of funky, like one of the crazy art teachers at school. She took me and my mom into her office and talked to us for about a half an hour, then shooed my mom out and talked to me. She's a pretty good listener, and she seems to understand me okay for just having met me.

Then she had me take this depression test. I scored a 36, which places me in the severe depression category.

She recommends an anti-depressant for this. Both my mom and my doctor aren't too keen on me being on an anti-depressant and the birth control pill at the same time, but Fran insists that it can't wait.

Speaking of the birth control pill, this morning I got my period three days early, accompanied by an onrush of horrible cramps. Since leaving school at 9:30, I've had to take six Midol just to have my cramps slightly soothed. Sure, I'm relieved that I have my period, because that means I can try the birth control pill come Sunday, but I hate my periods because they hurt.

I'm not a very happy camper, am I?

I see Fran again on May 14th. It seems odd to think that I have a psychiatrist.

I wonder what my dad will say when I tell him I have a shrink.

[ ]

[ last ] [ next ]